Studies in the School of Rural and Surveying Engineering

The School of Rural and Surveying Engineering (SR&SE), Faculty of Engineering, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTh) offers a 5-year programme of undergraduate studies which lead to the degree "Diploma of Rural and Surveying Engineering", as well as  graduate specialization programmes. A Doctoral Thesis programme is also available.

The current new undergraduate programme  is in effect since the academic year 2004-2005. The programme consists of two units of studies. In the first 3-year unit with 41 compulsory courses (20 preparation courses in the first 3 semesters and 21 basic courses in the next 3 ones) the fundamental profile of the Rural and Surveying Engineer is formed. In the second 2-year unit with 3 compulsory and 12 elective courses (out of 62 totally offered), the students have to select one out of the three School Departments for their elective courses, in order to specialize in one of the main scientific directions of the School.  Out of the 4 semester of the second unit of studies, the last one is devoted to the Diploma Thesis. Thus a total of 55 courses, the course of "Methodology, research and technical writing of research papers" in the 9th semester and a Diploma Thesisare required for graduation.

Out of the 12 elective courses, at least 10 must be from the selected Department. Students make their choice of Department at the beginning of the 7th semester which remains compulsory thereafter. Prerequisite for Department selection is the completion of 10 preparation courses from the 3 first semesters and 10 of the basic courses of the next 3 semesters

Regarding the (n+3)-rule (n = number of courses in the semester enrolled,  n+3 = number of selected courses in each semester):

For the 6 first semesters of compulsory courses, the number (3) refers only to past courses not successfully completed.

The (n+3) rule applies to the next semesters only when the student has chosen his Department of studies, with priority given to past non completed courses.

For semesters 7, 8 and 9 (n+3) is conventionally taken equal to  9.

In the 10th semester 9 courses can be selected from both the winter and summer semesters. The courses of the winter semesters should already been chosen in previous winter semesters.

Students who are above the 10th semester and cannot select a Department, can select an unlimited number of courses as from the 1st, 3rd and 5th Semesters (for the Winter Semester) and the 2nd, 4th and 6th Semesters (for the Spring Semester)

Students who are above the 10th semester and can or have selected a Department, can select an unlimited number of courses from the 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th Semesters (for the Winter Semester) and the 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th Semesters (for the Spring Semester)

The School curriculum with all courses per semester and their content can be found in the Undergraduate link under STUDIES in the central menu of this site.

Extensive curriculum information is also given in the Undergraduate Studies Handbook of the School.

The interested international students can find extensive information for all aspects of the School's programme (such as the Qualification awarded, Level of Qualification, Qualification requirements and regulations, profile of the programme, Key learning outcomes, Occupational profiles of graduates with examples, Access to further studies, Examination regulations, assessment and grading, Graduation requirements, and Mode of Studying) you can find here.