Organization and Structure

According to the Higher Education Act 1268 of 1982 every university is divided into Faculties, which "cover a group of related scientific fields in order to secure the required interaction for scientific advancement as well as the necessary coordination for teaching and research".

Every Faculty is divided into Schools. Every School: "is the basic functional academic unit which covers the scientific field of a unique science. The curriculum of the School leads to a unique university degree".

Every School is divided into Departments. Every Department: "coordinates teaching of a part of the School curriculum which corresponds to a particular scientific field".

The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki is divided into Faculties and each Faculty is organized into Schools awarding a corresponding Degree (Diploma). The Faculty of Engineering consists of the following Schools (in chronological order of foundation):  

  • Civil Engineering,
  • Architecture,
  • Rural and Surveying Engineering,
  • Mechanical Engineering,
  • Electrical Engineering,
  • Chemical Engineering,
  • Mathematics, Physics and Computational Sciences (no degree awarded),
  • Urban-Regional Planning and Development Engineering.

The School of  Rural and Surveying Engineering (R&SE) of the Faculty of Engineering (FE) of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTh) consists of 3 Departments which coordinate specific scientific fields of Rural and Surveying Engineering. The Departments are:

  • Department of Geodesy and Surveying (DGS) : Academic field of Geodesy and Surveying is the Study (measurements, processing, display) of the geometric, kinematic and dynamic characteristics and structures of earth and space area at various scales.
  • Department of Cadastre, Photogrammetry and Cartography (DCPC): Academic field of Cadastre, Photogrammetry and Cartography is the Study (measurements and recordings, treatment, monitoring display) of the landscape, the analysis, interpretation and evaluation of the characteristics of the natural and human environment, in order to create integrated IT infrastructure and participation in shaping development programs.
  • Department of Transportation and Hydraulic Engineering (DHTE): Academic field of Transportation and Hydraulic Engineering is the Study of transformation capabilities of the physical space through construction, technical, transportation and hydraulic development works that based on given or supplementary information infrastructure, to exploit the country's resources.